Flexible arrangements DPS

Flexible arrangements

Flexible arrangements are available for 2013 to support your Day Procedure Service transition to the National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards.

Day procedure services may access flexible arrangements to support your organisations when undertaking accreditation to the NSQHS Standards during the introductory year 2013.

Fewer requirements for mid-cycle assessment or periodic review

our current accreditation status remains unchanged as does your position within the accreditation cycle. Your next survey will be as currently required for you to maintain your accreditation status: annual, mid-cycle/periodic or organisational-wide.

Accreditation to the NSQHS Standards commences on 1 January 2013. This means that after 1 January 2013, the next scheduled recertification audit or organisation-wide accreditation visit will involve assessment against all 10 NSQHS Standards.

For a mid-cycle assessment, periodic review or surveillance audit scheduled anytime after 1 January 2013, healthcare services will not need to be assessed against all 10 NSQHS Standards.
Any mid-cycle assessment will, at a minimum, involve:

  • Standards 1, 2 and 3
  • the organisational quality improvement plan (or equivalent document such as an operational or strategic plan)
  • recommendations from previous accreditation assessments.

Health service organisations and accrediting agencies may agree upon additional assessment requirements for the mid-cycle assessment.

Extra time to address not met actions

When HDAA finds that an action has not been met, health service organisations usually have a 90 day remediation period. In 2013, this timeframe has been increased to 120 days.

Transition arrangements for health service organisations

Additional transition arrangements are in place for all health service organisations currently certified to ISO9001 and JASANZ Core Standards for Safety and Quality.

These services will need to comply with 4 specified items during a surveillance audit to maintain certification to the Core Standards for Safety and Quality during transition to the NSQHS Standards.

The Australian Health Service Safety and Quality Accreditation (AHSSQA) Scheme commences on 1 January 2013 with the introduction of the NSQHS Standards. For health service organisations to remain certified to the JAS-ANZ Core Standards for Safety and Quality in Health Care for the full 3 year period, they must currently meet the requirements of the Core Standards at the initial certification visit and then continue to meet these requirements at each of the subsequent surveillance audits.

For this to be possible and for health service organisations to be accredited to the NSQHS Standards, organisations will be assessed to Standards 1, 2, and 3 at each surveillance audit after 1 January 2013. This arrangement can continue until the first scheduled re-certification after 1 January 2013, at which time the organisation will need to meet all 10 NSQHS Standards for re-certification.

During the transition period, assessment to Standards 1, 2 and 3 of the NSQHS Standards alone will not meet the requirements for ongoing certification to the JAS-ANZ Core Standards for Safety and Quality in Health Care. For organisations to remain certified to the Core Standards there are a small number of additional specified items which will be assessed only once in the certification cycle during surveillance audits. All specified items are to be assessed once during a certification cycle. HDAA may assess half these items at each surveillance visit, or all during one visit. This will depend on where an organisation is in its current certification cycle and which standards were assessed at the last surveillance visit.

How HDAA can help you

We have been awarded Approved Accreditor for the National Safety & Quality in Health Services Standards (NSQHSS). We are a specialist health assessment organization, an experienced provider of accreditation to the health sector and one of the few organisations in Australia that has achieved accreditation by the International Society for Quality in Healthcare (ISQUA).

Health services are about people and we know that it is not always possible to achieve excellence despite trying. We acknowledge this in our work with organisations and do what we can to provide a pathway of development that contributes to improvement.

When you choose HDAA as your assessment agency you can be assured that we will do everything in our power to make the assessment experience both positive and valuable.
As your assessment agency you can be sure that we will:

  • Be encouraging, guiding and supportive.
  • Structure our approach so it is beneficial for you.
  • Ensure that the assessors involved are skilled and competent in working with you.

Our aim is to walk beside you on your journey to improvement. We aim to be educational in our approach so this must be based on an understanding of your organisation.

HDAA’s Accreditation program focuses on continuous quality improvement and supporting your organisation. It consists of a process that involves self-assessment, of performance against the NSQHS Standards, and ongoing monitoring by HDAA.

First step

Please call HDAA on 1800 601 696 for further guidance or to arrange a meeting to discuss how HDAA can help you.