Ethical Auditing Assessments

Our Experience

HDAA Experience with Assessing

HDAA assessors complete ethical audits to the internationally recognised SEDEX Ethical Auditing standard. An assessment to these Ethical Auditing standards is universally accepted and readily understood.

Your customers want to know that the products and services they purchase from you are produced and operated in a responsible and ethical way. Your customers trust in your businesses to do the right thing, and businesses who do not meet customers expectations risk losing this trust. With over one billion daily active users using Facebook and hundreds of millions using other medial platforms the damage that can be done should an organisation be exposed as unethical is immense.

Trust, once lost, can be hard to rebuild. The long-lasting way for organisations is to meet the ethical expectations of customers and everyday engagement in the business operation. This is where ethical auditing begins.

HDAA will work with you to help establish exactly which elements are necessary to be covered in your ethical audit. It may be cost effective to cover several sites or areas of your supply chain at the same time and so we structure each audit in a unique way.

The design of each ethical audit is reviewed on an individual basis as part of the planning process which ensures the most efficient methodology for your audit is achieved.

Program Details

What is an Ethical Audit?

Businesses around the world have a responsibility to protect the rights of their workers and to minimise their impacts on the environment. Today, every business that sells products into the global supply chain ? large or small ? has to think about how they can meet their responsibilities. An Ethical Audit is one way organisations can demonstrate this.

HDAA can help you design an ethical audit to meet your organisation needs. The assessment covers the mandatory two pillars of health and safety and labour standards and you can choose to include Environment and Business Practices according to your organisations focus.

An Ethical Audit includes either the first two or all four of the following pillars:

  • Health and safety
  • Labour standards
  • Environment
  • Business Practices
Assessment Preparation

Preparing for your assessment

Contact us by email or phone 1800 601 696 to discuss your services individual needs, relevant transition details and to identify a suitable date with sufficient lead time to feel comfortable and prepare for your services transition.

To support your assessment planning HDAA will provide you with clear information and guidance in regard to the evidence requirements, clarification of the specific timeframes to meet your assessment cycle needs and an easy to use, comprehensive self assessment document and improvement action plan system.

The Key Features of Assessment for Certification

Throughout the Assessment we work together with you to provide:

  • Access to HDAA Operations Support to clarify the requirements of the Standards and discuss the assessment or other relevant matters;
  • A fully participatory and inclusive approach by our Assessment Teams;
  • Experienced and skilled Assessors who have worked with these Standards and other human services assessment programs;
  • Assessors with relevant disability and child safety services expertise.
Assessment Details

What an assessment involves

A self-audit tool is available from HDAA to help you prepare your organisation for your ethical audit.

Key Features of Assessment for certification

  • Pre-visit co-ordination;
  • Pre-review of documentation by Assessment Team;
  • Visit by the Assessor/s;
  • Post-assessment report development;
  • Quality review of assessment reports by an independent Principle Assessor;
  • Draft assessment report provided for your feedback;
  • Certification panel decision making;
  • Final assessment report forwarded to you and the Department of Communities.

Our aim is for your assessment report to provide a blueprint for your ongoing continuous improvement plan. Remember your Assessor available to discuss your assessment and answer any questions you may have at each step in the process.



This link to the SEDEX website provides access to a useful resources and describes the assessment requirements as well as the rationale behind the Scheme.

Excerpt from Warren Buffetts letter to Berkshire Hathaway Managers (whom he refers to as The All-Stars.) Mr. Buffett describes his ethical expectations of his managers and tells them to zealously guard Berkshires reputation, stating that Berkshire can afford to lose money but cannot afford to lose its reputation. He says that, the notion that everyone else is doing it does not provide justification for a business decision and that any activity or decision that has the slightest odour of impropriety should be avoided.

Most business and financial practitioners understand the general rule of ethics is to do what is right, yet we continue to witness and read about practices that are often close to or over the edge of expected ethical behaviour.

There is a fast growing awareness and recognition that our actions that impact on society as a whole and in a world of connectivity society will not accept less than ethical practice.

Looking for a Certified Provider?

Service providers Certified by HDAA at this link.