Skip to Content

Blog Archives

So impressed

“We were so impressed with both Janet and Julie at our audit – their approach was professional yet approachable and collegiate, and we felt very supported in our processes to achieve accreditation.”

12/3/19

0 Continue Reading →

monumental outcome

I was so delighted to have received our certification against the National Disability standards. This is not only a monumental outcome for our little organisation, but also for Katherine and its communities. I just wanted to say a huge thank you for your amazing patience, support and guidance you have given me through this process – I am sure I was frustrating at times. Your professionalism was unwavering.  (We) look forward to a long working relationship with HDAA as we move forward into the future.

21/1/19

0 Continue Reading →

Amazing customer service

We got notified we have reached accreditation…I am so grateful to you for your guidance and expertise on this matter, you have helped me enormously and your customer service is amazing.

04/10/18

0 Continue Reading →

Support and professionalism

I would like to thank the assessors and the HDAA team for their support and professionalism throughout the process and we welcome their feedback and guidance to ensure we are constantly improving our services.

07/07/18

0 Continue Reading →

Meeting our timeframes

I’d like to reiterate our thanks for sending Peta and Anthea who were fabulous and helped us to all feel as relaxed through the process as possible.

And thank you for understanding our need to get it all moved through as soon as possible.

07/06/2018

0 Continue Reading →

Support and advice with the assessment process

Many thanks to you and your colleagues who have supported and advised us through this important process and for always being readily available whenever we needed you.

24/05/2018

0 Continue Reading →

A great experience!

Thanks so much, we received our very flash looking copy of our TPV report in the mail today.  Greg is framing and hanging our Certificate as I write. Thanks for a great experience!!

14/05/2018

0 Continue Reading →

Organised, flexible, professional Assessors

(The Assessor’s) were great! As a lead, Dawn was organised, flexible, professional and asked questions in a very personable way. Feedback from other staff and participants was that discussions were very easy to participate in.

7/5/18

0 Continue Reading →

Experienced Assessors

Assessors were very experienced and expertise in field evident.

6/3/18

 

0 Continue Reading →

Assistance throughout the process

Thank you for all of your assistance throughout this process. It has been an absolute pleasure working with you over the last few weeks. Thank you to you both for your professionalism when it came to assisting me throughout the process no matter the level of assistance required. You both are a credit to your organisation.

1/11/7

 

0 Continue Reading →

CLOSE
Imaging Practitioner

Imaging practitioner is defined as:

CLOSE
Imaging Services

Equipment used to provide imaging services must be registered to your LSPN. Refer to the diagnostic imaging services table (DIST) and information below for the eligible Medicare Benefits Scheme (MBS) codes that are required to participate in the DI Stage II Scheme.

CLOSE
LSPN

The LSPN or Location Specific Practice Number is the unique six-digit number given to practices by Medicare Australia when the diagnostic imaging equipment was registered (one enrollment must be completed for each LSPN).

CLOSE
Standard rating

 

A rating system used for each of the service standards.

CLOSE
Sevice type outlet

 

A service type outlet is the unit of the funded agency that delivers a particular CSTDA service type at or from a discrete location. If a funded agency provides, say, both accommodation support and respite services, it is counted as two service type outlets. Similarly, if an agency is funded to provide more than one accommodation support service type (for example, group homes and attendant care) then it is providing (and is usually separately funded for) two different service types, that is, there are two service type outlets for the funded agency.

CLOSE
Service user agreement

 

A second-party assessment provided by service users, their families or carers, to provide feedback on whether the service provider’s performance and service delivery comply with the Queensland Disability Service Standards.

CLOSE
Service user

 

A service user is a person with a disability or a family member or carer of a person with a disability, who receives a CSTDA- funded service.

CLOSE
Service type

 

Service type is the support activity which the service type outlet has been funded to provide under the CSTDA. The CSTDA National Minimum Data Set (CSTDA NMDS) classifies services according to service type. The service type classification groups services into seven categories (known as service groups): accommodation support; community support; community access; respite; employment; advocacy, information and alternative forms of communication; and other support services. Within each of these categories there are subcategories.

 

These can be:
1. Accommodation services.
2. Community support.
3. Community access.
4. Respite.
5. Advocacy, information and print disability.
6. Other support.

CLOSE
Service provider

 

A service receiving recurrent funding under the Disability Services Act 1992 (Qld) (or as amended); or the Commonwealth State/Territory Disability Agreement (CSTDA).

CLOSE
Service

 

A service is a support activity delivered to a service user, in accordance with the Commonwealth State and Territories Disability Agreement (CSTDA). Services within the scope of the DSQS are those for which recurrent funding has been provided by DSQ operating under the CSTDA.

CLOSE
Self assessment of a service provider

 

Internal assessment in consultation with service users, staff and other stakeholders, as applicable, to determine whether the service providers performance and delivery comply with the Queensland Disability Service Standards.

CLOSE
Self assessment guide

 

A working document that is used by service providers to identify and record signposts and evidence examples specific to the service type and/or outlet being assessed.

CLOSE
Self assessment

 

Internal assessment in consultation with service users, staff and other stakeholders, as applicable, to determine whether the service providers performance and delivery comply with the Queensland Disability Service Standards.

CLOSE
Region

 

As defined by DSQ regional boundaries.

CLOSE
Rating scale

 

The system used to rate conformity of a service provider.

CLOSE
Queensland disability service standards

 

Comprise the Queensland Disability Service Standards and their service standard indicators

CLOSE
Privacy act and privacy principles

 

Privacy Act 1988 as amended 2000; and the eleven (11) privacy principles associated with the Act.

CLOSE
Person with a disability

 

The Disability Services Act 1992 (Qld) defines a person with a disability as follows:

 

1) This Act applies to a person with a disability

(a) that is attributable to an intellectual, psychiatric, cognitive, neurological, sensory or physical impairment or a combination of impairments; and
(b) that results in

 

(i) a substantial reduction of the person’s capacity for communication, social interaction, learning or mobility; and
(ii) the person needing support.

 

2) The disability must be permanent or likely to be permanent.

3) The disability may be, or may not be, of a chronic episodic nature.

CLOSE
Observation

 

Opportunity for positive feedback or suggested improvement to be included within the continual improvement plan.

CLOSE
Notifiable issue

 

Evidence or allegations of a serious health, safety or abuse risk, financial impropriety and/or professional misconduct.

CLOSE
Nonconformity

 

The requirements of an indicator associated with a Queensland Disability Service Standard are not fully met, or the outcome is only partly effective.

CLOSE
Major nonconformity

 

The requirements of a service standard indicator associated with a Queensland Disability Service Standard are not met, or the outcome is ineffective; or there are more than two nonconforming indicators within a standard; or there are more than two nonconforming standards across the ten standards.

CLOSE
Maintenance audit

 

An annual audit to assess whether the service provider’s activities as described in the documented management system, are functioning effectively and continuing to meet the requirements of the Queensland Disability Service Standards. Also defined as a component part of Follow-up Review.

CLOSE
Internal audit

 

An audit conducted by, or on behalf of, a service provider, by persons free from responsibility for the activities being audited; as the basis for the service providers self-declaration of conformity, or for management review or other internal purposes.

CLOSE
Information

 

All documentation, records and data in either hard copy or electronic format that are applicable to the management, administration, operation and service performance or delivery of a service provider.

CLOSE
Individual plan

 

A document that provides the details of the service to be provided to a service user, as amended from time to time.

CLOSE
Indicator rating

 

A rating system used for each of the service standard indicators.

CLOSE
Improvement action

 

Activities planned and implemented as a result of nonconformists being raised, suggested improvements from service user feedback, or outcomes from management reviews. These are documented in the continual improvement plan or its equivalent.

CLOSE
Funded agency

 

A funded agency is an organisation that delivers one or more service types (service type outlets). Funded agencies are usually legal entities. Where a funded agency operates only one service type outlet, the service type outlet and the funded agency are the same entity.

CLOSE
Follow up review

 

Maintenance auditing or progress reporting required subsequent to an audit.

CLOSE
DSQ

 

Disability Services Queensland.

CLOSE
Continual improvement

 

Recurring activity to increase the ability to fulfill requirements. Note: the process of establishing objectives and finding opportunities for improvement is a continual process, through the use of audit findings and audit conclusions; analysis of data; management reviews or other means; and generally leads to corrective or preventative action.

CLOSE
Conformity

 

The requirements of the Service Standard Indicator are met (refer to Rating Scale definition).

CLOSE
Audit trained service user

 

A member of the audit team who is either a person with a disability within the meaning of the Disability Services Act 1992 (Qld), or who has experience as a service user of a disability support service; or a family member, guardian or carer of such a person.

CLOSE
Assessment-guide

 

A working document that is used by service providers to identify and record signposts and evidence examples specific to the service type and/or outlet being assessed.

CLOSE
Scroll To Down Scroll To Top