National Safety and Quality in Health Care

HDAA can assess health service organisations using the NSQHSS

HDAA’s Experience with Assessing the NSQHSS

The Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (ACSQHC) has granted approval to HDAA to assess health service organisations using the National Safety and Quality In Health Care Services Standards (NSQHSS).

HDAA are a specialist health assessment organisation, an experienced provider of accreditation to the health sector and one of the few organisations in Australia that has achieved accreditation by the International Society for Quality in Healthcare (ISQUA).

HDAA has worked with health services as they progressively implement the NSQHCS Standards. When you choose HDAA as your assessment agency you can be assured that we will do everything in our power to make the assessment experience both positive and valuable. Our aim is to walk beside you on your journey to improvement and help you at every stage.

The ACSQHC has released the Second Edition of the Standards and these came into effect from 1 January 2019. The second edition of the NSQHSS has 8 Standards and 148 indicators. 

Resources to assist health services prepare for an assessment to the NSQHSS are available on the ACSQHC micro site. You can also contact us if you have questions about the Second Edition and how this may apply to your practice. 

What is the NSQHSS?

The NSQHS Standards were approved by Australian Health Ministers in September 2011 and Accreditation for hospitals and day procedure services commenced in January 2013.

The 8 NSQHS Standards (2nd Edition) provide a nationally consistent statement about the level of care consumers can expect.

The 8 standards of the NSQHSS (2nd Edition) address the following areas:

  • Clinical Governance
  • Partnering with Consumers
  • Preventing and Controlling Healthcare Associated Infections
  • Medication Safety
  • Comprehensive Care
  • Communicating for Safety
  • Blood Management
  • Recognising and Responding to Acute Deterioration

The introduction of these National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards and reforms under the Australian Health Service Safety and Quality Accreditation (AHSSQA) Scheme have implications for many health services nationally, as they commence participation in third party accreditation processes, many for the first time.

We welcome the opportunity to meet with you and discuss how HDAA can assist your service with assessment to the NSQHSS.

Contact HDAA For Your NSQHSS Assessment

HDAA are a specialist health assessment organisation approved to assess health service organisations using the NSQHSS.

Click the button bellow to get in contact with our expert team today.

Preparing for your NSQHSS assessment

Contact us by email or phone 1800 601 696 to discuss your service’s individual needs.

To support your assessment planning, HDAA will provide you with clear information and guidance in regard to the evidence requirements, clarification of the specific time frames to meet your assessment cycle needs.

The Key Features of Assessment for Certification

An Assessment for Certification involves:

Initial Assessment – a visit to all of your sites/locations, meeting with people who use your services, volunteers, staff, management and Board.

Final Assessment – a final assessment is only required if there were areas identified for improvement at your initial assessment. A final assessment occurs within three months of the initial assessment. 

Throughout the Assessment we work together with you to provide:

  • Access to HDAA’s Program Support team to clarify the requirements of the standards and discuss the assessment or other relevant matters;
  • A fully participatory and inclusive approach by our Assessment Teams;
  • Experienced and skilled Assessors who have worked with these standards and other human services assessment programs;
  • Assessors with relevant expertise and backgrounds.

What a NSQHSS assessment involves

Key Features of Assessment for initial certification:

  • Pre-visit co-ordination;
  • Visit by the Assessor/s;
  • Post-assessment report development;
  • Quality review of assessment reports by an independent Principle Assessor;
  • Draft assessment report provided for your feedback;
  • Certification panel decision making;
  • Final assessment report forwarded to you and the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care within 30 business days of the final assessment.

Our aim is for your assessment report to provide a blueprint for your ongoing continuous improvement plan. Remember your Assessor is available to discuss your assessment and answer any questions you may have at each step in the process.

Assessment Cycles

Certification to the NSQHSS is awarded for a three-year period. There is no longer a requirement for a maintenance or surveillance assessment. This has been replaced by annual ‘Attestation Statements’. Re-certification occurs every three years and will be a repeat of the ‘Initial’ and ‘Final’ assessment process. 

The Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (ACSQH) has produced a number of Fact Sheets related to the assessment process. You can access these via the ACSCH micro site

Resources For National Safety and Quality in Health Care


The Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (ACSQH) has a micro site dedicated to the NSQHS Standards (2nd Edition).

The micro site includes resources to assist to assist health service organisations align their patient safety and quality improvement programs using the framework of the National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards.

You can also contact the Commission’s NSQHS Standards Advice Centre:

Phone: 1800 304 056

Looking for a Certified Provider?

Health Services certified by HDAA can be viewed at this link HDAA Health Certificate Register.

Contact HDAA's Expert Team For NSQHSS Certification

HDAA has been assessing the NSQHS since 2013 and we can discuss your service’s individual needs with a simple, no obligation call.

Click the button bellow to get in contact with our expert team today.