NDIS Assessment Services 

“If the path be beautiful, let us not ask where it leads.”

Anatole France

Looking for information on Western Australia’s transition to the NDIS? See our NDIS Western Australia page. 

HDAA is approved by the NDIS Quality and Safeguards Commission as an Approved Quality Auditor to assess disability service providers to the NDIS Practice Standards.

We can provide both Verification and Certification assessments to the NDIS Practice Standards. Our approval by the Commission is on the basis of our existing JAS-ANZ accreditation and our long experience of providing quality assessments for disability services throughout Australia to other disability and human services standards and frameworks (State-based and Commonwealth programs).  Our experience means we bring a wealth of knowledge, insight and competence to your NDIS assessment.

The NDIS Rules and Practice Standards now apply in all states and territories except Western Australia, which will transition to the standards in December 2020.

Information regarding the NDIS Practice Standards and accompanying NDIS Rules (Summary) is now available. The NDIS Commission has also developed a useful Provider Information Pack for organisations wishing to become registered providers.

The NDIS Rules and Guidelines can be used to start understanding the Standards, the assessment process and other requirements for registration. Different services will take different pathways through assessment (Verification and Certification) which is an essential component of your registration as a NDIS provider.


Request proposal

Get a free proposal for your NDIS assessment from our expert team. We'll also send you our step-by-step NDIS assessment guide.


Start the process

If HDAA is a good fit for your NDIS assessment, our friendly staff will reach out to let you know the next steps. 


Simple assessment

An expert NDIS assessor will be assigned to you at a date that's convenient. They will guide the process for assessment in an understandable way.


Decision made

Once assessed, a decision will be made and the next steps are started. Our goal is to guide the process for you from start to finish. 

How the NDIS Practice Standards are Assessed

The Practice Standards are made up of Core Standards and a number of supplementary Modules. There are four Core Standards each with a number of criteria and indicators. There are also five registration groups that have additional specific Modules.

Certification: Service providers identified for a Certification assessment must meet the Core Standards. In addition, service providers registered for classes of support that have a specific module (see below) will need to complete the Core Standards AND the relevant specific Modules.

Verification: Service providers who are required to complete Verification need only be assessed to one Module. Verification is generally conducted as a desktop (off-site) assessment. For more information on Verification requirements, see the NDIS Commission’s Required Documentation for Verification guide.

The Core Standards:

  1. Rights of participants and responsibilities of providers
  2. Provider governance and operational management
  3. Provision of Supports
  4. Support provision environment

Registration Groups with specific Modules:

  • Module 1: High intensity daily personal activities
  • Module 2: Specialist behaviour support
  • Module 2A: Implementing behaviour support plans
  • Module 3: Early childhood supports
  • Module 4: Specialised support coordination
  • Module 5: Specialist disability accommodation

Note, all services who use restrictive practices will be required to complete Module 2A in addition to the Core Standards and any other modules that apply based on the registration groups requirements.

Download our information table (PDF) to identify which modules and the method of assessment may apply to your organisation. Once you register with the NDIS Commission, the modules and method of assessment will be reconfirmed on a “Scope of Audit” document generated by your application.

You can also download our NDIS scheme requirements documents from our Resources page to learn more about NDIS timeframes, audit requirements, sampling and reporting. 

NDIS Certification and Verification Resources

We've collected the most useful content for NDIS (National Disability Insurance Scheme) certification and verification so that you can make informed decisions.

If you need further guidance, please contact us.